The newMedical Marijuana Regulation Bill (PDF) The new went into full effect July 1, 2016, integrating the medical cannabis market with the current retail marijuana market.
New Medical Cannabis law now in effect, WA Dept. of Health database operational
The medical cannabis database is operational and it is the patient's decision to register or not (unless under 21 years old then registration is required). The database is necessary to produce medical cannabis recognition cards at licensed medical cannabis stores (retail marijuana locations that hold a medical cannabis endorsement). Patients must take their authorization form to a licensed medical cannabis store to receive their recognition card. Cost for recognition card is $1.
Patients and designated providers who are entered into the medical marijuana authorization database, will receive a recognition card which will entitle the patient to additional rights and protectionsunder SB 5052 (Please Read: Washington State Constitution, art. I, § 12). Those "additional rights and protections" include legal authority for patients and designated providers age 21 and older to:
Under the new medical cannabis law, if you are not entered into the database you will NOT be able to:
Patients and designated providers who hold valid authorizations but aren't entered into the database will have an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution ifthey possess no more than four plants and six ounces of usable marijuana. They may purchase only in accordance with the laws and rules for non-patients (Again, Please Read: Washington State Constitution, art. I, § 12).
Medical Cannabis - Qualifying Conditions
Under Section 16 of the Cannabis Patient Protection Act, the legislature finds that there is medical evidence that some patients with terminal or debilitating medical conditions may, under their healthcare professional's care, benefit from the medical use of cannabis.
Some of the conditions for which marijuana appears to be beneficial include, but aren't limited to:
Humanitarian compassion necessitates that the decision to use cannabis by patients with terminal or debilitating medical conditions is a personal, individual decision, based upon their healthcare professional's professional medical judgment and discretion.
Medical Marijuana Authorization Database
Starting July 1, 2016, medical marijuana patients with a valid Medical Cannabis Authorization Form may join the Medical Marijuana Authorization Database and receive their medical marijuana recognition card.
Benefits of the Recognition Card
Joining the authorization database is voluntary and isn't required in order to be a medical marijuana patient. However, the medical marijuana recognition card affords the patient many benefits. A recognition card holder may:
Authorized Patients Not Entered into the Database
Patients and designated providers who hold valid authorizations but aren't entered into the database may purchase only in accordance with the laws and rules for non-patients. They will have an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution if they possess no more than four plants and six ounces of usable marijuana.
How to Join the Database
Take your authorization form to any licensed and medically endorsed retail marijuana store (see list of Marijuana License Applicants). Ask to see the certified Medical Marijuana Consultant on staff who is trained in working with authorized medical marijuana patients. Give the consultant your authorization form so that he or she can enter your information into the database, take your picture, and create a new Medical Marijuana Recognition Card.
Who Can Access the Database
The Medical Marijuana Authorization Database is a secure system that has limited accessibility. Only the following people can see information from the database:
Medical Marijuana Possession Amounts - Any adult aged 21 or older
Can purchase any combination of the following from a licensed retail marijuana store:
Qualified patients and designated providersUntil July 1, 2016:
Under state law, qualified patients and designated providers have an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution as long as the patient or designated provider has completed a valid medical cannabis authorization form and complies with the legal amounts allowed to possess and grow — up to 15 plants and 24 ounces of usable marijuana.
Now in effect as of July 1st, 2016: The possession amounts have changed and will depend on whether the patient or designated provider is entered into the medical cannabis database.
Qualified patients and designated providers who are entered into the database may legally:
The patient or designated provider may purchase sales-tax free any combination of the following from a licensed retail store with a medical endorsement:
The patient or designated provider may also grow in their home or as a member of a cooperative:
If the patient's healthcare practitioner determines the patient requires more than the presumptive amount, they may authorize:
Note: As of July 24, 2015, no more than 15 plants may be grown or located in any one housing unit even if multiple qualifying patients or designated providers reside in the housing unit. The only exception will be for cooperative gardens established under SB 5052 after July 1, 2016.
Qualified patients and designated providers who are not entered into the database may:
The patient or designated provider may grow in their home:
Note: Patients and designated providers who aren't entered into the database are limited to four plants and six ounces of usable marijuana even if a higher number of plants is indicated on their authorization.
Patients and designated providers who aren't entered into the database have only an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution.
Source: WA Dept. of Health
THIS DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE, PLEASE CONTACT A LEGAL
PROFESSION FOR LEGAL ADVICE.
Your email has been successfully sent and we appreciate you contacting us. We’ll be in touch soon.